can’t you hear that boom da boom boom boom da boom boom bass?

The porch of my house, which seems quiet enough for feral cats and black widows to do their nesting thing, is approximately 15ft from a busier than naught city street, and two houses down from the semaphore of said-street and a main artery of a street connecting “the Grid” of Sacramento to the less savvy “South Sacramento.”  Souped up cars are constantly stuck at the light near or in front of my house making their music choices known to the neighbourhood.  If I didn’t know any better, I would assume a train was passing nearby.

Today, someone just drove by blasting “Super Bass” by Nicki Minaj.  I find this to be utterly charming.

1. It is a song I like by her.  …before she went on her I’m-going-to-take-everyone-of-your-favourite-late80s-through-early-90s-pop-songs-and-sample-it-just-so-that-you’ll-be-excited-to-hear-the-original-but-find-my-rap-instead bender.

2. It is a song I recognise.

3. It isn’t quite a negative song for a neighbourhood that really doesn’t need to hear negative songs.  [We’re a turning-around hood.]

4. It didn’t scare the cats despite said-song being my cleaning/the vaccuum monster is coming out anthem.

5. It made me smile.

 

Leave a comment